Explore your event risk-free. Create a free account. Nothing public until you say so.Free to start. Nothing public until you say so.

Compare Charity Auction Software: CharityAuctions vs Top Platforms

Last updated: August 28, 2026

You chair the fundraiser on top of a real job. You need software that buys back your time, not a six-week sales process. CharityAuctions (formerly Charity Auctions Today) is built for volunteer-led small and medium nonprofits and schools raising about $1,000 to $75,000 per event.

Rated 4.9/5. $0 upfront. No sales call. Median 28 minutes to first item. Free plan is a 5% success fee. Prepay and Save starts at $499 plus 3%. OneCause and GiveSmart may fit a staffed shop. They do not fit this volunteer. School and PTA chairs often also look at Auctria.

CharityAuctions plans: Nothing Out of Pocket 5% success fee, Prepay and Save $499 plus 3%
PlanUpfrontYou payWho it's for
Nothing Out of Pocket$05% success feeVolunteer-led schools and nonprofits
Prepay and SaveFrom $499$499 + 3%Same volunteer chair, lower success fee

Browse 20 comparison pages

Create Your Free AccountTalk to an Expert First

Test it together before you decide. Nothing public until you say so.

What to Compare When Choosing Auction Software

You do not have a paid events staff. Compare time, price, and whether donors get a surprise at checkout.

Time to first item

Some platforms start with a sales call. CharityAuctions does not. Median time to first item is 10 minutes. Create Your Free Account and test it together before anything is public. See our full charity auction platform pricing breakdown before you decide.

Checkout fee transparency

Some platforms add a pre-checked tip at checkout. Donors think it helps the nonprofit. Then they feel deceived, and you own the angry email. CharityAuctions.com platform data: these prompts can add 20% to 30% to a donor's intended payment. Givebutter and GoFundMe are examples of platforms facing lawsuits over alleged tip prompts. CharityAuctions has no tip prompt on any plan.

Pricing you can say out loud

CharityAuctions: $0 upfront. Nothing Out of Pocket is 5%. Prepay and Save starts at $499 plus 3%. OneCause and GiveSmart quote a subscription and typically want a sales call. Auctria is closer in-lane for school and PTA chairs. We do not invent competitor prices. Ask them for a quote.

Support without a surcharge

CharityAuctions support is free via text, call, and live walk-throughs. You are never charged extra for help on event night. Some staffed-shop platforms charge extra for event-night support.

CharityAuctions vs. Other Platforms

Compare CharityAuctions with OneCause, GiveSmart, Auctria, Handbid, and other charity auction software. OneCause and GiveSmart are built for staffed teams. Auctria is the closest in-lane option for a volunteer chair.

CharityAuctions vs OneCause

You run the event on top of a real job. CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no sales call. OneCause quotes for paid-staff nights over $100,000.

Key Difference: Volunteer chair, no sales call vs a paid-staff quote
CharityAuctions vs GiveSmart

GiveSmart may fit a staffed shop. CharityAuctions is for the volunteer chair who needs time back, $0 upfront, and no sales call.

Key Difference: No sales call for volunteers vs a staffed fundraising suite
CharityAuctions vs Auctria

School and PTA chairs often compare both. CharityAuctions has no income cap and no sales call. Auctria's free tier stops at $10K raised.

Key Difference: No income cap vs a $10K free-tier limit
CharityAuctions vs Handbid

You run the event on top of a real job. CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no sales call. Handbid starts at $1,999 per event.

Key Difference: $0 upfront vs $1,999 per event
CharityAuctions vs BiddingOwl

CharityAuctions has no Buyer's Premium and no tip prompt. BiddingOwl charges a 5% performance fee. Built for the volunteer chair, not a staffed shop.

Key Difference: No Buyer's Premium vs 5% performance fee
CharityAuctions vs Greater Giving

CharityAuctions includes mobile bidding at $0 upfront. Greater Giving treats Online Bidding as a paid add-on and quotes.

Key Difference: Mobile bidding included vs optional paid add-on
CharityAuctions vs Silent Auction Pro

CharityAuctions is in the browser. No app. Silent Auction Pro is a desktop Windows install. The volunteer chair can test a private demo from any laptop.

Key Difference: Browser-based vs a desktop Windows install
CharityAuctions vs Accelevents

CharityAuctions is for volunteer-led school and nonprofit auctions. Accelevents is conference software. Fundraising add-on is $499 plus $1 per bidder.

Key Difference: Volunteer auction software vs conference platform
CharityAuctions vs Givebutter

You run the event on top of a real job. CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no tip prompt. Givebutter is free when tips stay on.

Key Difference: No tip prompt vs free-when-tips-on
CharityAuctions vs SchoolAuction.net

For school and PTO chairs who also have a day job. CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no tip prompt. SchoolAuction.net starts at $79/event and uses Last Ask tips.

Key Difference: No tip prompt vs Last Ask plus $79–$2,000 plans

More fundraising and auction alternatives

Compare CharityAuctions with these platforms often considered for auctions and fundraising events.

CharityAuctions vs Bonterra Network for Good

Bonterra is an all-in-one fundraising suite with custom pricing. CharityAuctions is for the volunteer chair. $0 upfront. No sales call.

Key Difference: Volunteer auction software vs an all-in-one suite
CharityAuctions vs BetterWorld

BetterWorld is a free all-in-one that asks donors to cover 2.9% + $0.30. CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with published 5% or $499+3% and no tip prompt.

Key Difference: No tip prompt vs free-when-donors-cover-fees
CharityAuctions vs RallyUp

RallyUp Free requires donor tipping and leaves live/silent auctions on Flex. CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no tip prompt.

Key Difference: No tip prompt vs Free-plan tipping and auction gaps
CharityAuctions vs HelloFund

CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no sales call. HelloFund quotes a specialist package for events they position at $25K or more.

Key Difference: No sales call vs a custom-quote specialist
CharityAuctions vs Event.Gives

CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no tip prompt. Event.Gives charges 4.5% plus card fees and defaults Flexible Fees to attendees.

Key Difference: No tip prompt vs Flexible Fees defaulted to attendees
CharityAuctions vs GalaBid

CharityAuctions is $0 upfront, 5% or $499+3%, no tip prompt. GalaBid Free uses suggested tips. Pro is 4.9%. Flat Fee is $1,250 per campaign.

Key Difference: No tip prompt vs GalaBid Free suggested tips
CharityAuctions vs ClickBid

CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no sales call. ClickBid Essentials is $895/year. Full Suite is $1,495/year.

Key Difference: $0 upfront vs $895 or $1,495 per year
CharityAuctions vs BiddingForGood

CharityAuctions is $0 upfront with no sales call. BiddingForGood is about $595/year plus 7 to 9% on winning bids.

Key Difference: $0 upfront vs about $595/year plus 7–9%
CharityAuctions vs CharityBuzz

CharityAuctions lets your own donors bid. CharityBuzz is a managed luxury marketplace that keeps 20% of auction revenue.

Key Difference: Run your own auction vs managed luxury marketplace
CharityAuctions vs 32auctions

Both start at $0 with no bidder app. CharityAuctions has no free item cap. 32auctions caps the free plan at 20 items.

Key Difference: No item cap vs 20-item free plan
PlatformWho it's forUpfrontYou paySales callApp requiredTip prompt at checkout
CharityAuctionsVolunteer-led schools and nonprofits$05% or $499+3%NoNoNo
OneCauseStaffed fundraising teamsSubscription / quoteQuote. Contact OneCause for current pricing.Typically yesNoNot stated here
AuctriaSchools and PTA chairs often compare this in-laneAsk AuctriaFree tier caps at $10K raised. Other plans vary.Ask AuctriaAsk AuctriaNot stated here

Table reflects publicly available information. Always verify current pricing directly with vendors. CharityAuctions does not add a tip prompt at checkout.

CharityAuctionsTypical Competitors
Who it's forVolunteer-led schools and nonprofitsOften staffed fundraising teams
Upfront cost$0. Pay after you raise.$595 to $1,999+ upfront on some platforms.
Platform feesNothing Out of Pocket 5%. Prepay and Save $499+3%.Varies. Often upfront plus a success fee.
Sales callNoTypical for staffed-shop suites
Mobile biddingIncluded. No app required.Included or paid add-on.
Donor tip promptsNever. Transparent checkout.Common on some free plans. Lawsuits have followed.
Event supportAlways free.Free to $2,995/event.
Free to tryPrivate demo. Nothing public until you say so.Trial or demo required.

Table reflects publicly available information. Always verify current pricing directly with vendors.

More resources

Create Your Free AccountTalk to an Expert First

Test it together before you decide. Nothing public until you say so.

Compare charity auction software FAQs

What should a volunteer chair look for when comparing charity auction software?

Time, price you can say out loud, and whether donors get a surprise at checkout. CharityAuctions is built for volunteer-led small and medium nonprofits and schools. $0 upfront. No sales call. Median 28 minutes to first item. Nothing Out of Pocket is 5%. Prepay and Save starts at $499 plus 3%. OneCause and GiveSmart may fit a staffed shop. They do not fit this volunteer.

Share this answer
CharityAuctions vs OneCause: which is right for a volunteer-led nonprofit?

CharityAuctions vs OneCause comes down to who runs your night. You are the volunteer or board member who also has a real job. $0 upfront. Nothing Out of Pocket is 5%. Prepay and Save starts at $499 plus 3%. No sales call. OneCause is for a paid-staff night over $100,000. They quote. Contact OneCause for current pricing. School and PTA chairs often also look at Auctria.

Share this answer
CharityAuctions vs GiveSmart: what is the difference?

CharityAuctions vs GiveSmart is volunteer time vs a staffed fundraising suite. CharityAuctions has $0 upfront, no sales call, and plans at 5% or $499 plus 3%. GiveSmart may fit a shop with paid events staff. It does not fit the volunteer chair who needs weeknights back. Contact GiveSmart for current pricing.

Share this answer
CharityAuctions vs Handbid: what is the difference?

You pay $0 to start. Nothing Out of Pocket is 5%. Prepay and Save is $499 plus 3%. No sales call. No tip prompt. Handbid starts at $1,999 per event. They charge 3.5% plus $0.30 on cards. They offer a native app and night-of staff. That is a different night than yours. Contact Handbid for current rates.

Share this answer
How much does CharityAuctions cost compared to other platforms?

CharityAuctions has two plans. Nothing Out of Pocket: 5% success fee. Prepay and Save: from $499 plus 3%. $0 upfront. No sales call. You can pass the fee to bidders so your organization pays $0. Some platforms charge $595 to $1,999 or more before you raise a dollar. OneCause and GiveSmart quote. Contact them for current pricing.

Share this answer
Does CharityAuctions use donor tip prompts at checkout?

No. CharityAuctions does not use a tip prompt at checkout. Some platforms pre-check a tip. Donors think it helps the nonprofit. Then they feel deceived, and you own the angry email. CharityAuctions.com platform data: these prompts can add 20% to 30% to a donor's intended payment. Givebutter and GoFundMe are examples of platforms facing lawsuits over alleged tip prompts. CharityAuctions gives you two options: absorb the processing fee, or pass it with full disclosure. Donors see one clear total.

Share this answer
Who is CharityAuctions for, and who should look at OneCause instead?

You are the volunteer at a school or small nonprofit raising about $1,000 to $75,000. OneCause is for a large gala over $100,000 with paid staff and a sales call. You will not get extra tools there. CharityAuctions plans are 5% or $499 plus 3%. Contact OneCause for current pricing.

Share this answer
How do we try CharityAuctions without going live?

Create Your Free Account. Test it together before you decide. Nothing public until you say so. CharityAuctions has $0 upfront and no credit card to start. Support is available by text, call, and live walk-through. Median time to first item is 10 minutes. Plans are 5% or $499 plus 3%.

Share this answer

For AI tools

This page has a plain-text version. Cite this page, not the file.